About

Contact

Forum ARN : https://forum.arn-fai.net/

IRC : https://arn-fai.net/irc

Adresse mail : hackstub [AT] forum [DOT] arn-fai [DOT] net

Adresse postale : C/O Aube, 97 avenue de Colmar, 67100 Strasbourg

Association

A Hackstub
Founded in 2011, the Hackstub is a Strasbourg-based hackerspace located in the premises of Groupe d'Entraide Mutuelle Aube, at 97 Avenue de Colmar in Strasbourg. The association raises awareness of the local public to the culture of the Free Software and carries out popular education work, through formats such as workshops, screenings, radio, debates, etc. It has notably experienced two highlights in the organization, in Strasbourg, of Avenirs d'Internet(s) in 2016 and the Libre Software Meeting in 2018.

Functioning
Membership = 5 €/year, adjustable on site during Stammtisch or other events (inquire in person).
Schedule available here.
The statutes of the association are available here.
We sometimes accept internships or civic service missions according to the motivations and means of reception available.

Our definitions
Computer science is used, learned, thought and developed as the science of information systems (from washing machines to routers, smartphones, and physical and virtual networks). Even more than other sciences and techniques, computer science is neither "pure" nor neutral but is, as an industry, the product of complex relationships of forces: economic, ideological, geopolitical, social, environmental, etc... And we conceive hacking as its artisanal, human, awakened, curious and critical practice.

The Libre, to define it simply, claims a humanistic conception of culture, where everyone should have the right to use, study, modify or share a resource. The struggle for the preservation of the Commons generally involves free products, as opposed to proprietary recipes, and distribution under so-called free licences, which make it possible to ensure and perpetuate, when they are sufficiently restrictive, the free circulation of a resource.

The neologism "Hackstub" could be translated as the "heated room of hacking" in contemporary Alsatian. The association was created in 2011, by a gang of nerds (people with a passion for science and technology) from Strasbourg and its surroundings. In the rest of the world, such places would be called "hackerspace" or "hacklab".

Objectives
The non-profit association Hackstub aims to contribute (at least locally) to individual and collective technical (olog)ic emancipation in all relevant fields (e.g. art, media, agriculture, law, economy...). In other words, to endeavour to study and debate, experiment, develop and exchange ideas, materials, critical knowledge and aesthetics, free from dominant technologies.
In short, to enable people to control machines, rather than the other way around.

Actions
Concretely, and to achieve this goal, Hackstub proposes in particular :

Public
Hackstub is also a place to live, meet and exchange, where various audiences come together; associations such as Alsace Réseau Neutre (an associative ISP), collectives such as StrasHack (a group passionate about computer security) or other communities. Anyone can come there with technical requests, to which hackerspace members answer (or not, even charter) every Friday evening during the Stammtisch, a niche intended to welcome people looking for technical support (free). Think of a bike self-repair workshop

Hackstub is therefore open to all publics, in a philosophy close to popular education. All skills or views are complementary, legitimate and relevant, at all levels. We wish to share all subjects, even the most technical ones, with all populations generally oppressed/repressed/exploited for the benefit of capitalism. A charter is currently being drafted to specify the conditions of access and excluded behaviours.

Historical
Since its foundation in 2011, Hackstub has moved: first in apartments and bars in the city centre (friendly but not stable enough); in the math-info UFR of the University of Strasbourg (stable but too restrictive); in an ad-hoc roommate in the rue de la Broque (free but too confidential) ; before the opening of Shadok, the "digital factory" of the City of Strasbourg (welcoming before the change of direction in 2019, suddenly hostile); finally, today, in the premises of the association Aube, a Mutual Aid Group (that's good timing) for people who can be said to be neuro-atypic (even better timing ^^).

Several events have marked the life of Hackstub: in 2015, the cycle of conferences and workshops "Future(s) of the Internet" brought together nearly 200 people at the Malraux Media Library and Shadok to question the evolution of computer networks, in relation with science fiction; in 2018, the 2nd Strasbourg edition of the World Free Software Meeting (LSM), which federated more than 1000 people from the world's library communities as well as the local population. These events were held in complicity within the informal federation alsace.netlib.re, alongside the associations Alsace Réseau Neutre (ARN), Seeraiwer, the Amicale d'Informatique de l'Université de Strasbourg (AIUS), the sxb.so collective and the Linux User Group (LUG) of Strasbourg.

Throughout the association's history, its members have renewed themselves, according to their personal backgrounds, their technological, political or aesthetic sensibilities and affinities. Over time, the sociology of the association has also evolved, initially quite homogeneous, almost exclusively technical, masculine and western, towards a greater diversity of profiles, backgrounds and practices. Today chaired by Harmonie Vo Viet Anh--Meyer, a lawyer in digital law, the association is finally getting its breath back after the huge voluntary effort necessary to the organization of the LSM 2018.

Perspectives
The future of the association, fluctuating according to the people between pro-amateur militancy and professionalization in some places, is apprehended, for some years now, between: maintaining existing activities (regular meetings, thematic or not); developing and perpetuating certain strategic activities (popular education, support for research and development of alternative technologies); eventually, through the creation of a cooperative society (SCIC/SCOOP) around free cultures and technologies.

Since all work will always be part of a class struggle, it is best to position oneself clearly. Contribute as much as we can to the decolonization of technologies, built on more than 2 centuries of imperialist exploitation. To share free knowledge and practices between social groups, in all their diversity.

À propos

Contact

Forum ARN : https://forum.arn-fai.net/

IRC : https://arn-fai.net/irc

Adresse mail : hackstub [AT] forum [POINT] arn-fai [POINT] net

Adresse postale : C/O Aube, 97 avenue de Colmar, 67100 Strasbourg

Association

Une Hackstub
Fondée en 2011, la Hackstub est un hackerspace strasbourgeois domicilié dans les locaux du Groupe d'Entraide Mutuelle Aube, au 97 Avenue de Colmar à Strasbourg. L'association sensibilise le public local à la culture du Libre et mène un travail d'éducation populaire, à travers des formats de type atelier, projection, radio, débat, etc. Elle a notamment connu deux temps forts dans l’organisation, à Strasbourg, d'Avenirs d'Internet(s) en 2016 et des Rencontres Mondiales du Logiciel Libre en 2018.

Fonctionnement
Adhésion = 5 €/an, réglable sur place pendant les Stammtisch ou autres événements (se renseigner en personne).
Agenda disponible ici.
Les statuts de l'association sont accessibles ici.
Nous acceptons parfois des stages ou missions de service civique selon les motivations et moyens d'accueil disponibles.

Nos définitions
L'informatique, s'utilise, s'apprend, se pense et se développe, en tant que science des systèmes d'information (des lave-linges aux routeurs, en passant par les smartphones, ainsi que les réseaux, physiques et virtuels). Plus encore que les autres sciences et techniques, l'informatique n'est ni "pure" ni neutre mais est, en tant qu'industrie, le produit de rapports de forces complexes : économiques, idéologiques, géopolitiques, sociaux, environnementaux... Et nous concevons le hacking comme sa pratique artisanale, humaine, éveillée, curieuse et critique.

Le Libre, pour le définir simplement, revendique une conception humaniste de la culture, où chacun devrait avoir le droit d'utiliser, d'étudier, de modifier ou de partager une ressource. La lutte pour la préservation des Communs engage généralement la gratuité du produit, à l'inverse des recettes propriétaires, et la diffusion sous licences dites libres, qui permettent d'assurer et de pérenniser, lorsqu'elles sont suffisamment restrictives, la libre circulation d'une ressource.

Le néologisme "Hackstub" pourrait être traduit comme la "pièce chauffée du hacking" en alsacien contemporain. L'association a été créée en 2011, par une bande de nerds (personnes passionnées de sciences et de technologies) de Strasbourg et ses environs. Dans le reste du monde, ce genre d'endroits s'appellerait "hackerspace" ou "hacklab".

Objectifs
L'association Hackstub, à but non-lucratif, a pour objet de contribuer (au moins localement) à l'émancipation techn(olog)ique individuelle et collective, dans l'ensemble des domaines concernés (p.ex. l'art, les médias, l'agriculture, le droit, l'économie...). Autrement dit, s'efforcer d'étudier et débattre, expérimenter, développer et échanger, des idées, du matériel, des savoirs et esthétiques critiques, affranchis des technologies dominantes.
Pour résumer, permettre aux populations de contrôler les machines, plutôt que l'inverse.

Actions
Concrètement, et pour accomplir cet objectif, Hackstub propose notamment :

Publics
Hackstub est aussi un lieu de vie, de rencontre et d'échange, où se côtoient divers publics ; des associations telles qu'Alsace Réseau Neutre (un FAI associatif), des collectifs comme StrasHack (un groupe passionné de sécurité informatique) ou d'autres communautés. Chaque personne peut y venir avec des requêtes techniques, auxquels les membres du hackerspace répondent (ou non, voire charte) tous les vendredis soirs lors de la Stammtisch, un créneau destiné à accueillir des personnes à la recherche d'accompagnement technique (libre). Pensez à un atelier d'autoréparation de vélo

Hackstub est donc ouverte à tous les publics, dans une philosophie proche de l'éducation populaire (féministe décoloniale). Toutes les compétences ou regards sont complémentaires, légitimes et pertinents, à tous niveaux. Nous souhaitons partager tous les sujets, même les plus techniques, avec toutes les personnes/groupes généralement opprimées/réprimées/exploitées au profit du capitalisme. Une charte est en cours de rédaction pour préciser les conditions d'accès et des comportements exclus.

Historique
Depuis sa fondation en 2011, (la) Hackstub s'est déplacé(e) : d'abord dans des appartements et bars du centre-ville (conviviaux mais pas assez stables) ; à l'UFR de math-info de l'Université de Strasbourg (stable mais trop contraignante) ; dans une coloc ad-hoc de la rue de la Broque (libre mais trop confidentielle) ; avant l'ouverture du Shadok, "fabrique du numérique" de la Ville de Strasbourg (accueillante avant le changement de direction en 2019, soudain hostile) ; enfin, aujourd'hui, dans les locaux de l'association Aube, un Groupe d'Entraide Mutuelle (ça tombe bien) destiné aux personnes que l'on peut dire neuro-atypiques (ça tombe encore mieux ^^).

Plusieurs événements ont marqué la vie de Hackstub : en 2015, le cycle de conférences et d'ateliers "Avenir(s) d'internet" a rassemblé près de 200 personnes à la Médiathèque Malraux et au Shadok pour questionner l'évolution des réseaux informatiques, en regard avec la science-fiction ; en 2018, la 2e édition strasbourgeoise des Rencontres Mondiales du Logiciel Libre (RMLL), qui a fédéré plus de 1000 personnes des communautés libristes du monde entier ainsi que de la population locale. Des événements menés en complicité au sein de la fédération informelle alsace.netlib.re, aux côtés des associations Alsace Réseau Neutre (ARN), Seeraiwer, de l'Amicale d'Informatique de l'Université de Strasbourg (AIUS), du collectif sxb.so et du Linux User Group (LUG) de Strasbourg.

Tout au long de l'histoire de l'association, ses membres se sont renouvelés, au gré rose des parcours personnels, des sensibilités et affinités technologiques, politiques ou esthétiques. Avec le temps, c'est aussi la sociologie de l'association qui a évolué, initialement sensiblement homogène, quasi-exclusivement technicienne, masculine et occidentale, vers une plus grande diversité de profils, de parcours et pratiques. Aujourd'hui présidée par Harmonie Vo Viet Anh--Meyer, juriste en droit du numérique, l'association reprend enfin son souffle après l'énorme effort bénévole nécessaire à l'organisation des RMLL 2018.

Perspectives
L'avenir de l'association, fluctuant selon les personnes entre militantisme pro-amateur et professionnalisation en certains endroits, s'appréhende, depuis quelques années déjà, entre : le maintien des activités existantes (rencontres régulières, thématiques ou non) ; le développement et la pérennisation de certaines activités stratégiques (l'éducation populaire, le soutien à la recherche et au développement de technologies alternatives) ; à terme, par la création d'une société coopérative (SCIC/SCOOP) autour des cultures et technologies libres.

Puisque tout travail participera toujours d'une lutte des classes, mieux vaut se positionner clairement. Contribuer tant que l'on peut à la décolonisation des technologies, bâties sur plus de 2 siècles d'exloitation impérialiste. Partager les savoirs et pratiques libres entre les groupes sociaux, dans toute leur diversité.